Let’s connect

BDD Cells

Because every water drop counts.

BDD Cells are to be operated with DC voltage. The current-voltage requirement depends on the size of the cell and the conductivity of the medium to be treated. Constant current operation (variable voltage) is recommended. This type of operation ensures that the current density and thus the performance of the BDD Cell is constant.
Scaling reduces the performance of BDD Cells. Severe scaling can destroy the boron-doped diamond electrodes. The cell can be cleaned with any commercially available descaler. Diluted hydrochloric acid or acetic acid is recommended for industrial applications.
The current and voltage consumption of BDD Cells also indicate scaling. If the cell is operated at constant current, the voltage will increase with increased scaling. If the cell is operated at a constant voltage, the current will decrease as the scaling increases. Important: Monitor current and voltage.

Severe scaling leads to a strong reduction of the electrochemically active electrode area. Current density hot spots develop, which can destroy the electrodes, especially the contact electrodes. How can this be avoided? Regularly reverse polarity and/or clean (descale); descale medium (electrolyte) before electrochemical treatment.
If the BDD Cell is energised and filled with the medium to be treated (electrolyte), but there is no flow, then the medium becomes increasingly hot (starts to boil). If this effect lasts longer, the plastic housing of the cell can be deformed, especially at high current densities, and the cell becomes leaky. How can this be avoided? Monitor flow and/or temperature.
Solids, e.g. stones, gravel, sand, in the medium (electrolyte) can clog BDD Cells. This leads to the same effects as scaling. However, solids can also lead to abrasive effects at the electrode surfaces and destroy the electrodes. How can this be avoided? Filtration.

Scaling on the surfaces of the electrodes is caused by lime (main cause) but also by other substances in the medium to be treated (electrolyte). What these substances are ultimately depends on the composition of the electrolyte. The BDD Cell or the electrodes installed in it are operated with direct voltage (positive and negative pole). If the polarity is reversed at regular intervals, i.e. the positive pole becomes the negative pole and the negative pole the positive pole, the scaling falls off the electrode surfaces. The reversing of the polarity can be carried out automatically by a polarity reversal unit. Caution: If the scaling is too strong, reversing polarity is no longer sufficient and the cell must be cleaned (descaled).

Let’s connect

BDD-Zellen

Because every water drop counts.

Die BDD-Zelle ist mit Gleichspannung zu betreiben. Der Strom-Spannungsbedarf hängt von der Größe der Zelle und von der Leitfähigkeit des zu behandelnden Mediums ab. Empfohlen wird der stromkonstante Betrieb (Spannung variabel). Dieser Betrieb stellt sicher, dass die Stromdichte und somit die Leistung der BDD-Zelle konstant ist.
Scaling (Verkalkung) reduziert die Leistung der BDD-Zelle. Starke Verkalkung kann die Bor-dotierte Diamantelektrode zerstören. Die Reinigung der Zelle kann mit jedem handelsüblichen Entkalker durchgeführt werden. Bei industriellen Anwendungen wird verdünnte Salzsäure oder Essigsäure empfohlen.
Die Strom- und Spannungsaufnahme der BDD-Zelle zeigen auch das Scaling an. Wird die Zelle stromkonstant betrieben, dann steigt mit zunehmenden Scaling die Spannung. Wird die Zelle spannungskonstant betrieben, dann sinkt bei zunehmenden Scaling der Strom. Wichtig: Strom- und Spannung überwachen.

Starke Verkalkung führt dazu, dass die elektrochemisch aktive Elektrodenfläche stark reduziert wird. Es entstehen Stromdichte Hot Spots, welche die Elektroden insbesondere die Kontaktelektroden zerstören können. Abhilfe: Regelmäßig umpolen und/oder reinigen (entkalken); Medium (Elektrolyt) vor der elektrochemischen Behandlung entkalken.
Ist die BDD-Zelle mit Energie beaufschlagt und mit dem zu behandelnden Medium (Elektrolyt) gefüllt, jedoch kein Durchfluss gegeben, dann wird das Medium zunehmend heißer (fängt zum Kochen an). Hält dieser Effekt länger an, dann kann das Kunststoffgehäuse der Zelle insbesondere bei hohen Stromdichten deformiert werden, die Zelle wird undicht. Abhilfe: Durchfluss- und/oder Temperaturüberwachung.
Feststoffe z.B. Steine, Kies, Sand im Medium (Elektrolyt) können die BDD-Zelle verstopfen. Es tritt der gleiche Effekt ein, wie bei einer Verkalkung. Feststoffe können aber auch zu abrasiven Effekten an den Elektrodenoberflächen führen und die Elektroden zerstören. Abhilfe: Filtration

Ablagerungen (Scaling) auf den Oberflächen der Elektroden kann von Kalk (hauptsächliche Ursache) aber auch anderen Inhaltsstoffen des zu behandelnden Mediums (Elektrolyt) kommen. Welche das sind, hängt letztlich von der Zusammensetzung des Elektrolyten ab. Die BDD-Zelle bzw. die in dieser eingebauten Elektroden werden mit Gleichspannung (Plus- und Minuspol) betrieben. Wird in regelmäßigen Zeitabstand die Polung umgedreht sprich der Plus- wird zum Minuspol und der Minus- zum Pluspol, dann fällt das Scaling von den Elektrodenoberflächen ab. Die Umpolung kann durch eine Umpoleinheit automatisch durchgeführt werden. Achtung: Ist das Scaling zu stark, dann reicht die Umpolung nicht mehr aus, die Zelle muss gereinigt (entkalkt) werden.